Movie Review: Shutter Island

A lot of fun at the movies.  That’s the bottom line for me with Shutter Island.  All of the acting is great, which goes without saying for Scorcese and this cast.  It has the feel (through production design, dialogue and acting) of an old detective film – which is one of the reasons I liked it so much.
There was definitely a lot of talking, and Scorcese would have been better served holding back a bit.  Once the mystery starts to unravel we are introduced to character after character explaining what is going on.  But it kept me guessing throughout.  I actually knew what was coming from the trailer – and the film actually made me second guess myself a few times.
Leave a Reply

