Movie Review: Wild and Wonderful Whites of West Virginia, The

I’m always game for a good drug romp.  The drug culture fascinates me.  How people can just wake up and repeat the same mayhem each and every day.  So when Netflix recommended The Wild and Wonderful Whites of West Virginia, and I needed something I didn’t have to fully absorb while working, I clicked ‘play.’

From the description, this seems like it would have a bit more action. Basically, all of the crime has already happened.  This plays more like a double episode of Intervention revolving around an entire family.  I like Intervention so I didn’t mind.  But as a feature it was a real let-down. There were no fights, not even the hint of a fight, no crime sprees – in fact, no crime at all other than drug use.  The drugs were rampant, but it was in the form of prescription pills crushed and snorted.  Give me hardcore meth use.  Give me something more. We barely even got a glimpse of what Boone County, WV was like other than the confined spaces of their homes.  In more skilled documentary hands, this could have been pretty enthralling.  As it is, it’s 90 minutes of fluff.

Leave a Reply

