Top 10 Most Anticipated Winter Films

To celebrate the start of winter yesterday, I put together a list of the 10 films I want to see the most from now until March 20 (the end of winter).  Some of these films may have come out in limited release, such as Shame or A Dangerous Method – but have not hit Long Island yet so I’m counting them as winter releases.

  • Haywire – Soderberg, Fassbender and Gina Carrano.  How would this not be #1?
  • Shame – more Fassbender… and my favorite young actress Carey Mulligan.
  • Coriolanus – I don’t know how this slipped past my radar, but it looks pretty awesome.
  • Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – a month ago this would have been #1, but I may have seen one too many promos for it and since I’ve seen the original it all feels old to me.
  • Act of Valor – this is right up my alley being that I dreamed of being a Navy SEAL one day.
  • A Dangerous Method – even more Fassbender.  Directed by David Cronenberg.
  • Chronicle – this looks like the really good version of what a found footage x-men rip-off should be.
  • John Carter – I am not so sure about this based on the trailer, but I’m in either way
  • Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close – the trailer was more moving than most films I’ve ever seen
  • Rampart – I was a big fan of The Messenger and the same creative team brings us this, including Woody Harrelson as a bad ass

Honorable Mention

  • Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy – a month ago this may have been in the top 3, but word everywhere is that this is a snooze fest.  I still want to and will see it, but I’m not itching to do so.
  • The Devil Inside – besides looking good, my friend Brent Bell directed this.
  • We Need to Talk About Kevin – have been hearing really good things about this Lynne Ramsey film.
  • Tin Tin – not that interested, but Spielberg and that creative team?  Hard to not go see it.
  • Loosies – Vincent Gallo is in it.  That’s enough for me.
  • Underworld Awakening – if you know me, you know I put out a werewolf book, so yes – I am a fan of this type of stuff.
  • The Secret World of Arrietty – Miyazaki is the master.
  • Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters – this sounds pretty awful, then you find out that Renner and Arterton are the stars and it changes my whole perspective.
Leave a Reply

