Son of a B-!

Yesterday I completed a draft of a script I’ve been working on in relative obscurity. Not that the government or anyone else is keeping tabs on my activity, but I do work with a lot of people and almost none of them know about this project. It was borne out of discussions with my financier and my desire to literally pick up a camera and make a movie. Some people call under a million ‘micro-budget’. I find that a bit out of touch with reality and call something under $100,000 micro-budget, with a ‘get it in the can’ number of under $40,000. That is where this would fall. I’m really happy with how it came out. More importantly, so is the financier.

The project is called S.O.B. – which is an acronym for the Seaford Oyster Bay Expressway on Long Island (which runs north-south in Nassau County), as well as ‘Son of a bitch.’ It is comparable to the original Pusher trilogy by Nicolas Winding Refn, except set on Long Island. I loved the simplicity of those movies – particularly the first one. But also the amount of style he brought to each film. The world just sort of sucked you in, and his gritty style kept you there. The film is packed with plenty of strippers, dealers and cretins.

Screen shot 2012-12-01 at 4.33.08 PM

I now find myself in a really odd position. It looks likely that Lunatic is going to get the greenlight in the next week or two for a Spring shoot  (much more coming on this – I promise). The same company will be financing another project I’m producing which would shoot right after that in Sweden. Now I have a project I can just go shoot, the financier with the pocketbook (and desire) to do it – but I don’t think I will have the time to shoot it before I need to really dive into pre-production on Lunatic (and this other project).

What worries me is the casting and locations for S.O.B. Even though it is micro-budget, if I can’t find someone for the lead that I think can carry the movie, then I just have to wait. If I had everyone ready we would be a full go for a January shoot. The more likely scenario is that we start casting now for an August or September shoot.

SOB-OneSheet

Leave a Reply

