First Official ‘R.E.M.’ Review

We have had some pretty amazing reader comments and posts about the book, but yesterday saw the first ‘official’ review of the graphic novel.  It comes from Alternative Magazine Online, a UK publication run by Marty Mulrooney.

I’m proud to say it is a glowing one – and can only hope and pray this is the first of many.  The full review is at the site, but here is a quick snippet:

“R.E.M. is a success both as a Kickstarter campaign, and also as a graphic novel that demonstrates genuine and heartfelt passion from its creators. I’ve kept my eye on Ryan Colucci ever since I reviewed Harbor Moon in 2010. As much as I enjoyed that previous work, R.E.M. is a cut above in every department. I must confess that I felt quite a personal connection with Michael’s struggle. My girlfriend suffers from chronic fatigue syndrome and the power of sleep – and the importance of a good night’s sleep actually doing what it’s supposed to, something many people simply take for granted – wasn’t lost on me in the slightest. R.E.M. is a graphic novel that will reward repeat readings, singling out Ryan Colucci and Zsombor Huska as a creative partnership to follow closely. I’m proud to have backed their latest project and I can’t wait to see what they come up with next.”

cropped-amo_headerstacked

Leave a Reply

